March Blogger of the Month- Little Chief Honeybee

Our March Blogger of the Month is Kaelah Bee of Little Chief Honeybee. She’s a fabulous gal from gorgeous Nashville!

Image c/0 Little Chief HoneyBee

What made you decide to start blogging?
I’ve been blogging online since 2002, back on LiveJournal, so it was never really a big step for me. I mean, I was 14 and basically relived my entire teenage life through an online diary… it wasn’t pretty! But in May 2009 I decided to start Little Chief Honeybee as a way to document my solo move from Nashville to NYC while I worked at BUST Magazine. It was then appropriately titled Honeybee in the City, but I decided to add several pieces of the puzzle along the way.

How would you describe your style?

To be honest, I’m very basic! It’s a frilly party dress, tights, cardigan, belt and often very ugly shoes for me. I like to say I “dress as though every day is a tea party”. Maybe overtly feminine but it’s roughed up by my tattoos, piercings, and bright red hair. It’s just a style that I feel comfortable in.

Image c/o Little Chief HoneyBee

What are some of your favorite blogs?

I honestly feel like I don’t have a chance to read many anymore, but when I do it’s always SusannahBean, Love Elycia, and Elsa Bilgren.

Where do you like to shop?

(As in, are you more of an “I’ll find something anywhere” kind of person, or you’ve got your set places you like to go)
I like typical fast fashion places just as much as the next girl (Forever 21, H&M, Urban Outfitters, etc), but a hefty portion of my wardrobe comes from discounted retailers like Ross, TJ Maxx and Marshall’s. What I love about them is that not every store carries the same stock, so the (blog) world is slightly less saturated with the same stuff. Ross especially. I’ve found my absolute favorite dresses in the world there for $10-$15!

Image c/o Little Chief Honeybee

Do you have any advice for people who want to get into blogging, or are just starting out?

Be yourself. Don’t chase fame or followers or sponsors or free things. Get into blogging because you have a sincere interest in sharing your opinions and meeting likeminded people. The good things come to those who are honest and diligent about working hard! It doesn’t happen overnight so don’t let the lack of comments or subscribers trip you up! I was blogging to the same 7 people for like 6 months… receiving 0 comments on a hefty majority of my posts. Now I feel like I’m constantly overwhelmed (in the good way!) with how many people read and interact with me!

What do you find to be unique or different about the Southern fashion scene? How do you think the people of Nashville differ from those in the surrounding areas in that sense?

Nashville is a very hip city. Especially where I live in East Nashville. It’s a small version of Portland, honestly! Tons of vintage clad guys and gals, and plenty of people with their own take on what is stylish. There’d be absolutely no way to lump them all in one category but to say that everyone here seems to have a unique perspective on personal style. It’s fun!
Text by Meghan Wright, All images c/o Little Chief Honeybee
One thought on “March Blogger of the Month- Little Chief Honeybee

  1. Pingback: Catch Up « Fashionably Meg

Leave a Reply

